The complex

History

1300

First record of the Church

1451

Church donated to the Olivetan monks of Monte Oliveto Maggiore Siena

1451-1770

The monks build the Sanctuary and annexed structures and oversee their prosperous development

1800

Incursion of the French imperial troops results in damage to several of the buildings

1816

The hilltop estate is bought by Fratelli Milani who go on to build Villa Milani

1946

At the end of the Second World War, Church and Villa are donated to the charitable organisation Congregazione dei Poveri Servi della Divina Provvidenza, founded by Don Giovanni Calabria

1985

Major renovation works are started, with great care being devoted to preserving the many frescoes in the Villa


The Villa

The complex today consists of parts that are presumed to date from different periods as shown by their contrasting architectural styles. The only certain date is that of the south facing part of the building, which corresponds to the 1895 Villa Milani.

This structure has a basement and three above-ground floors, with pitched roof for the two parts of the ex-monastery and the villa, while the building to the east, which has been used to accommodate service functions, features a flat roof with an open-air terrace. The building is composed of two main volumes: the monastery alongside the church, which boasts a colonnade portico having a series of windows on the ground floor interspersed with simple pilasters, and the villa, which is constructed in the distinctive ogival arch style and features a central forepart, with stone columns in the composite order supporting a first-floor terrace with stone balustrade.

The cornice features an archlets motif, while the central string-course is patterned with a series of cusp designs.


The Grounds

The extensive grounds ensure guests can enjoy a tranquil and relaxing stay. The historic setting provides the basis for a unique artistic and architectural experience. Close to the city and its fabulous shops, but also set apart on a hill that almost overlooks the streets below, Oasi San Giacomo stands alone yet not remote, away from the traffic and hubbub of the city so that guests can enjoy the natural surroundings of the grounds with their many mature trees, and the gardens surrounding the historic Chiesa di San Giacomo (church of St James the apostle). Here, guests can wander in quiet contemplation or linger beneath a portico that was once privy to the thoughts and conversations of the monks of a bygone era, immerse themselves in a novel or simply feast their eyes on the exquisite red rose buses surrounding the gushing fountain and the well adjacent to the villa, before returning to the back and forth of everyday life.